Home

image

Commitments to a preferred future do not come randomly. They are intentionally established at times when you are thinking clearly and are close to God.
– Wayne Cordeiro

The notes I make are much better at remembering than I am. I rely heavily on Google calendar and the reminders on my to do list to keep my life from getting unnecessarily complicated. When we intentionally spend time with God, He gives us a glimpse of His plans for us. Writing things down seems to clarify them, and it helps us to keep the picture He has given us from being influenced by our present circumstances as we live from new day to new day.

Nehemiah 9:38
New Living Translation (NLT)
The people responded, “In view of all this, we are making a solemn promise and putting it in writing. On this sealed document are the names of our leaders and Levites and priests.”

Making a note of what God draws my attention to, scriptures that stand out to me as I read the bible, and encouragement or correction that trusted Christian brothers give me, help me to remain on track and stay within the boundaries of God’s plan and promise for me. This gives me something to read over; a reminder of what God is doing in me and where He is directing me. Because of the truckloads of information we are bombarded with each day, I sometimes find it difficult to remember what the Sunday sermon was about by the time I ride out of the church premises. The same is true regarding my time alone with God. My intentions are good, but that doesn’t help me remember, let alone live what God has instructed me to do.

Habakkuk 2:2
The Message (MSG)
And then God answered: “Write this.
    Write what you see.
Write it out in big block letters
    so that it can be read on the run

One of my biggest distractions and downfalls is that I am a sucker for something new or something different. I am always looking for a newer or better app to do just about everything on my tablet. I cannot afford to be like this with God. Staying with the tried and tested is not a bad thing when it comes to my relationship with God.

Jeremiah 6:16
New Living Translation (NLT)
This is what the Lord says:
“Stop at the crossroads and look around.
Ask for the old, godly way, and walk in it.
Travel its path, and you will find rest for your souls.

I am going to dig out my old journals and read what God has said and remind myself of the direction He has given me. I want to give Him the opportunity to remind me of the path I am on, of the picture He has given me and of His promise in my life. Will you join me?

See also What did you sign up for? and The bible is not a safe book

Scripture references from http://www.biblegateway.com

Image source: Steven Vermeulen

Leave a comment