Home

image

I don’t like to be reminded how short my time here on earth is. When I do, it creates a sense of urgency in me. I don’t want any more regrets – I have enough already. I don’t know how many days I still have here on this earth, but this I do know, I want every day to be significant. There is  difference between significant and spectacular. There is a difference between meaningful and mediocre.

I want each day to be significant because I have taken the time to let God guide me, because I have loved my wife and family, because I have used my day to honour God, because God has done something great in me and through me.

Psalm 39:4
New Living Translation (NLT)
“Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be.
    Remind me that my days are numbered — how fleeting my life is.

It is easy and convenient to do just enough to get by. Going with the flow and allowing the current to determine our direction usually leaves us being washed out to sea. Allowing days to pass without purpose only leaves us feeling empty. The danger is that we get so involved with what we deem to be important, that we miss what really is. The notes in music are very important, but the spaces between the notes are often what gives it meaning.

Composers know the importance of scoring into each piece appropriate rests. And legatos, or longer-held notes, can make an otherwise rough piece of music smooth. They invite the strings to sing and the woodwinds to echo. Noah benShea, in Jacob the Baker, writes: “It’s the space between the notes that makes the music.” I have learned the importance of this truth in my life song. I must write in the rests before the conductor collapses from the continuous staccatos, detached notes incessantly fired in rapid succession. I need longer notes. I needed more legatos . . . with feeling. I needed to take time to enjoy the day, the moment, the present, before rushing into the next. Legatos— life will not be rushed.
– Wayne Cordeiro

I have realised that as important the things I do are, the reason I do them is even more so. Words are not as important as the breath to takes to articulate them. It is only in following God that I find significance. It is only in honouring Him that I really live. I am going to make each day significant in ser vice to my Saviour. How about you?

See also What did you sign up for? and Only five percent of what I do

Scripture references from http://www.biblegateway.com

Image source: Steven Vermeulen

Leave a comment