Home

image

I am amazed at how much people are willing to pay for a painting. Four years ago, a painting called The Card Players by Paul Cézanne sold for $250 million. I am not much of and art connoisseur so I have difficulty seeing this painting as something spectacular. To me, it looks like just another painting – a very expensive one nonetheless. Can you imagine what it would be like to find this original painting lying in the mud and dirt after being thrown out with the trash? I may not recognise it as a masterpiece, but someone in the know would recognise it for what it is. Restoring it would best be left to the experts. Wiping it down in my garage with a greasy cloth would not be good enough. It would have to be properly and carefully restored.

Ephesians 2:10
New Living Translation (NLT)
For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

It is easy to picture ourselves as God’s masterpiece. But when it comes to other people – especially those who we don’t get along with – seeing them as God’s masterpiece seems like an impossibility. To me, they seem like just another dirty and broken item that has been thrown out with the trash. It is difficult much see value in them because I struggle to see past the dirt and the brokenness. There are times when I do get a glimpse of the promise that is hidden within them, but the prospect of cleaning them up and fixing them up almost seems like too much effort. Could this be why it seems easier to write them off than to disciple them?

Fortunately, God sees the value in every one of us, and goes to great lengths go restore us. No amount of dirt or brokenness deters Him. When I think of where God pulled me out of and the great care and compassion He demonstrates to me as He continually removes the dirt and uncovers the masterpiece in me, I have no excuse not to do the same to others. Too easily I convince myself that getting my hands dirty helping someone else isn’t necessary because it is none of my business. That’s where I am wrong. Hurting, broken and dirty people are God’s business. As a child of God, that makes them my business.

I am going to be careful to look for the masterpiece in everyone, regardless of their state of cleanliness or their level of disrepair. I want to learn to see what makes them valuable. I want to see them the way God does. How about you?

See also What did you sign up for? and Where you stand will affect what you see

Scripture references from http://www.biblegateway.com

Image source: Steven Vermeulen

Leave a comment