Home

image

Some things are under-appreciated until we no longer have them. Traction control is one of them. Without traction control, a powerful motor is ineffective. Smoking tyres, lots of noise and drifting from side to side look really impressive, but the truth, you aren’t going anywhere fast. Power is not enough. It needs to be combined with traction. I am learning that I can move forward at the same pace if I slow down enough to get traction. With sufficient traction, the tyres don’t smoke and the drifting is minimal, making it possible to save energy and make quick progress. I have also learned that looking impressive uses up my tyres and fuel so quickly that I may run out before getting where I need to go.

Hebrews 2:1
The Message (MSG)
It’s crucial that we keep a firm grip on what we’ve heard so that we don’t drift off.

Most of us have inherited the the idea that working long and hard, even continuously, is the way we please our heavenly Father. We have ceased to be human beings and have become human doings. We strive to do more, thinking that it will please God. Living our lives as if we are riding on the rev limiter is exciting but not sustainable – something is going to break. What we refuse to observe willingly, is often imposed on us forcefully. When your motor goes, unless you get to the workshop and get it repaired, your racing days are over.

When it comes to ministry, most of us think we are bulletproof. We serve God with smoking tyres and revving motors ad wonder why we crash and burn so easily. It is not how fast you start that matters, but how well you finish. In order to finish the race well we need to read the Manual, listen to the Coach and spend lots of time in the Workshop. A well maintained motor performs best. Take yourself for a service. The Mechanic is expecting you.

Matthew 11:28-30
The Message (MSG)
“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

See also Reasons to write things down and For the heart to grow stronger, it must undergo stress

Scripture references from http://www.biblegateway.com

Image source: Steven Vermeulen

1 thoughts on “Power is not enough

Leave a comment