Home

image

Sometimes we can’t see who we really are because we are covered with the dust and grime from our everyday modern lifestyle. Who we are and what God has called us to becomes fuzzy. Giving our souls a good scrub helps to move the grubbiness, reminding us of who and what we really are. Asking good questions helps us to discover our motives, the driving force behind what we do and why we do it. Here are some questions that will help you scrub your soul.

Am I more concerned about what people think about my message or what God thinks about my message?
It is more important to hear God say, “Well done” than it is for everyone in the room to think that I am great, or for them to approve of what I have to share with them. When my focus is on honouring God and obeying Him, people will always be ministered to.

Do I genuinenly care about the people I minister to or am I more concerned with popularity?
Am I praying for the people who I minister to? Do I pray that God will give me genuine love these people?

Do I genuinenly care about people’s spiritual growth or am I speaking what people want to hear instead of what God want to say?
It is very tempting to minister in such a way that attracts crowds or attracts attention from people. When people give us flowers, do we give the flowers to God while they are still fresh?

Am I depending on the Holy Spirit’s leading and power or on my own cleverness?
We all have talents and strengths. The things we are good at can be our greatest weakness, because we are tempted to function in our strengths and sideline God.

Am I applying the teachings of scripture in my own life?
Before ministering to others, we are responsible for ensuring that we are conitinuously growing spiritually.

Will the ministry I am busy with draw more attention to me or to God?
When I am done, will people be drawn to God or will they be impossible impressed by my communication skills and charisma?

Paul reminds us that we are compelled by our love for Christ, we no longer live for ourselves, we do everything for Him who gave His all for us. We are compelled – pushed and driven – by our love for God and for the people whom He loves and came to save and serve.

2 Corinthians 5:15
New Living Translation (NLT)
He died for everyone so that those who receive his new life will no longer live for themselves. Instead, they will live for Christ, who died and was raised for them.

It is a little too easy to do things for the wrong reason or with incorrect motives. I am going to scrub my soul regularly. I no longer want to do anything for the wrong reason or with skewed motives. How about you?

See also Put your big boy pants on and How much does a fire cost?

Scripture references from http://www.biblegateway.com

Image source: Steven Vermeulen

Leave a comment